A Personal Experience: Rock Climbing Edition

On Friday, September 20, I had the opportunity to climb the rock wall at the Recreation Activity Center (RAC).  Since it was only my second time rock climbing, I didn’t know where to start. Where do I go to get a harness? Do I need any particular shoes? Will they catch me if I fall? I decided to stop worrying, trust the RAC’s staff, and just have fun. The staff working the equipment issue desk beside the rock climbing wall was very helpful with answering all of my questions.

While putting on my harness, I scanned the rock climbing area. I saw students who were, what I would call, experts climbing a short wall with no rope. I also saw students waiting in line to climb the higher wall. Some students were even sitting down and discussing tactics with their friends of what they had planned to do next to get further up the wall. They all seemed excited and passionate about perfecting their technique, which made me even more anxious!

Want to see me in action? Here I am!

Overall, climbing the wall was much harder than I thought it would be. It takes a lot of stamina, endurance, and strength but it was a great challenge. I look forward to trying again because, as you can see, I was almost at the top!

Remember Eagles, rock climbing is free at the RAC and is a fun way to spend your time before or after working out. Invite friends to make the experience even more challenging by setting individual goals. If this is something that you have never thought of doing, I encourage you to come and try something new. After you have rock climbed or if you have any suggestions for fellow students leave a comment. We would love to hear from you!

Also, feel free to upload pictures and videos of you and your friends’ rock climbing as well. Don’t forget to use the #RACLife hashtag!

Want to know when the rock climbing wall is open? Visit the Southern Adventure’s website.

One thought on “A Personal Experience: Rock Climbing Edition

Leave a Reply

