Happy Relaxation!

Ah, massages. We have all given and received a few shoulder rubs throughout the years, but how many of you have ever gotten a professional massage? Moreover, how many of you knew that you can get professional massages right here in the RAC Wellness Center? That’s right, CRI has two massage therapists on staff to help you heal and relax your body.

So for those of you who are new to massage therapy, the thought of choosing which massage to ask for may seem a little daunting. However, CRI has made it easy for you- Click Here for a list of all the massages offered at CRI along with a detailed description of each one.

I sat down with one of CRI’s massage therapists, Vanessa Posey, LMT, to get a little more information on massage therapy:

  1. Why did you choose massage therapy as a career?

Ever since I was a young girl, I have been interested in massage and how the human body works. I did not become interested in Massage Therapy as a profession until after completing my undergraduate degrees in Exercise Science and Music. After graduating from Georgia Southwestern State University, I attended Augusta School of Massage. I find this is a very rewarding career because it gives me a great opportunity to help and heal others in a therapeutic and holistic way. 

2. What do feel is the biggest benefit of receiving a massage?

I feel that it depends on the client’s needs, whether it be a muscular therapy need or relaxation from stress. When I receive a massage, I find myself needing both, but the relaxation part is the biggest benefit for me.

 3. What is the most common type of massage that clients ask for?

The most common type of massage that clients ask for would probably be Swedish for relaxation.

 4. What is the best type of massage for rehabilitation/sore muscles?

The best type of massage for rehabilitation and sore muscles would probably be a combination of Deep Tissue and Swedish massage.

5. Do you have any advice for those who may feel uncomfortable receiving a massage?

There are some personality types that just don’t like massage, and I realize that they are very hard to convince otherwise. However, if someone is interested in massage and is just slightly uneasy about it, I would advise them to have an open mind about massage because the benefits to the body are amazing. Also, if they were my client, I would want them to be open with me and try to express what was uncomfortable so I could accommodate their needs to make it as relaxing and comfortable as possible.

6. Which type of massage would you suggest a beginner receive?

It really depends on the status of one’s body, the history of the body, and then one’s preference of massage. I would suggest a beginner give a thorough client history intake on all past medical history and then decide what to suggest after the client interview.  I believe it takes some analyzing to figure out the best type of massage for a beginner.

7. Is there anything else you would want people to know about massage therapy?

I think everyone who is open minded should try massage at least once to feel the beneficial effects it has on the body. I highly recommend it for athletes and people who are healthy, because massage can be used as another maintenance technique to take care of one’s muscles.

For those of you who are interested in getting a massage, you can schedule a session at the Member Services Desk located inside the RAC. Massages are $25 for ½ hour or $50 for a full hour. However, on Wellness Wednesdays, which are the first and last Wednesday of each month, you can book a massage for a discount of $10 off. Happy relaxation!

CRI Till You Die!
– Michelle

Leave a Reply

